How I wasted an entire evening and locked myself out of my router too

It all began when I noticed that my internet connection seemed to be crawling at a snail’s pace. Actually, that’s not true. I’m reasonably sure that a snail could have slithered across a football field and back several times before my blog’s dashboard would open for me. So I got the bright idea to look on the internet for ways to secure my router.

Oy. What was I thinking? Do I know anything about security settings and routers?

I do now. 

More than I ever wanted to know. I know that I am not ever again going to get into my router and change settings to keep people out and manage to let everybody have access to my account…Everybody except me, that is! Good grief!

I ended up calling the help desk. I hate calling the help desk. I really do think that people whose job it is to help people troubleshoot their internet connection (or anything else, for that matter) should be able to speak clearly. I am not talking about a thick accent. I’m talking about mumbling and not being able to frame a coherent sentence and give clear instructions. I had to coax out of him what I needed to know and I admit to feeling more than a little exasperated by the time we were through.

Suffice it to say that I was right in the middle of writing today’s word count when I got distracted by all this hoopla. And as if that wasn’t enough, I can’t open up Scrivener right now to get back to writing even though I’m finally back on the net. Why? Because right before all that happened, I had managed to import a research folder into my Scrivener project and was intending next to cull from it a number of files which are rather large and which I don’t really need in there. I keep all my writing projects (and any other kind of project) in my Dropbox folder so I can sync them from one computer to another. But I had to reboot everything and I forgot to close my Scrivener project before closing Scrivener, so when everything came back up and the internet came back up too, Dropbox starting uploading my project to the web.

With all those huge research files in it. PDF’s that are ridiculously large. Tons of images of swords and interesting looking places and bits of history. Over 90MB in that one folder alone. I do not have a speedy internet connection. And I can’t open Scrivener from the Dropbox folder while it’s uploading. I have to wait…and wait…and wait…

Oy vey. I could go for a big cup of steaming hot coffee right now. And I’d have to go somewhere for it because I don’t have any here. Sigh. I do have some soft drinks, though. Oh, well, as long as it’s caffeine, that’s what really matters. Time to grab a snack, give the dawgs their meds and try to remember what I was going to write tonight. I can always open up a text file or DevonThink and write from there for a while. I am such a nincompoop. Oy oy oy oy oy. 😉

What’s DevonThink? It’s a database program for your research files or personal data or inventory or whatever you want it to be. I use it constantly every day. You can clip from the web, append to your text in Scrivener, and do much more.

Oh, almost forgot to tell you: I can’t get into my blog account to post this because my bandwidth is tied up with the much too large upload right now. So I’m writing this post using ScribeFire in my browser. ScribeFire lets me add my blogs, format my posts, use my tags and categories, add images and links, then uploads it for me. When it can. Grrr…

Wait! It’s finished! I can open up my Scrivener project again. Woohoo! Time to get back to the novel. Whew! What a night.

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Yo, say sumpin! :)

