More covers for the novel, yes, I should be writing instead of playing with Photoshop

The Last Shepherd, a version of the novel coverI edited the cover* I posted earlier, and made some other covers and one wallpaper so far for the current novel. (See image on the right and below.) The covers encourage me to keep going, cheering me on toward the day when I finally see something I’ve written with my name on it up there in lights. 😉 And I use the wall in my writing software, Scrivener, in full screen mode as the background to inspire me and and to affect the mood and atmosphere. I know, I could be and should be writing and not playing with Photoshop. But at some point I really need to pour some images into my imagination to inspire more images to pour out of my imagination and onto the page, er, screen. (I rarely write longhand but I do occasionally scribble in a  notebook. But as soon as the words begin to flow with any ease and speed, I have to switch to a keyboard and fast before I lose the groove. Did I just out myself as OLD?)

Novel writing music helps, too, but that’s for another post. (Bear McCreary and Patrick O’Hearn are the two composers I turn to most often when writing these days. More about that later.)

Some alternate covers and one wall and all of this is in flux and progress right now.

The Last Shepherd, a version of the novel cover The Last Shepherd, a version of the novel cover The Last Shepherd, a version of the novel cover

The Last Shepherd, a version of the wallpaper

*Full disclosure: I didn’t draw or paint any of these things. I only used what I found on the web, just to get a sense of what I would like to do for a real cover. When I do publish, I know I’ll have to make other arrangements. These are only for fun and inspiration. 🙂

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in Camp NaNoWriMo, Novel Covers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More covers for the novel, yes, I should be writing instead of playing with Photoshop

  1. Love the covers 🙂 You’re really good at photoshop! I wish I had your skills, lol, I have to pay people to make me covers like that.

  2. Lee says:

    Greetings, Michelle! Thanks for reading, commenting and for the kind words. But I have to confess something: I cheat. I find free wallpapers all over the web and then I just crop ’em and add some text and poof! Instant novel cover! Making the covers that way isn’t so time consuming; but searching for images that grab my fancy, now that takes time. A lot of the ones I’m using for this project are things I downloaded a year or more ago for a completely different story. I wish I could draw or paint my own stuff but, alas, I have to use what others have created. Thank goodness so many people are kind enough to share! 🙂

Yo, say sumpin! :)

