Celebrating Thanksgiving with friends and not shopping at all

I went to a friend’s place for Thanksgiving and had a lovely afternoon with her, her boyfriend, and couple’s parents. Good smells, good food, good company, laughs, getting to know each other (the first time her parents had met his and the first time I’d met them, too), while enjoying the best home-cooked meal I’ve had in a long time, and all in my friend’s new apartment with the lovely hardwood floors and wonderfully comfortable homey atmosphere. There’s even a fireplace (but we couldn’t use it because the weather was too warm and the downstairs neighbor keeps her heat on so high, my friend probably won’t have to turn on the heat in her apartment, well, ever).

A few hours later I was back home with the dogs, laden with enough food to last a couple of days and in need of a nap. (The dogs and I have become accustomed to an afternoon nap and I highly recommend it. Does wonders for the body and the mind.) Today we only went out of the house long enough to take our daily walk at the lake where we live and the park down the road. A friend and her dog showed up not long after we arrived and there was a lot of canine joy romping through the woods for a while.

Now we’re home again, the DVR is set to record all three films in the Lord of the Rings series, and in a few minutes I’ll be working on the novel for NaNoWriMo. I’ve got some catching up to do as I wasted too much time arguing with folks who’d written “reviews” on Amazon, “reviewers” who understood neither the purpose of a review, how to write one, nor, apparently, the subject of their “reviews”. Annoying. I’m not going to waste any more time on that now. I have thousands of words to write and a lot of work to do.

I hope you had a good Thanksgiving Day and will have a good weekend too. And if you’re still working on your NaNoWriMo novel, may you find those words your searching for and win come November 30th. Stay safe if you’re going to venture out to a mall. I’ve heard it’s rough out there and crazy. More and more I want to shop for Christmas less and less. It’s not about that anyway. It’s about family and friends and sharing love and celebrating the birth of Christ and the coming of His Light into the world. It’s not about trampling people as you grab for some material object before someone else can grab it. I’ve never acted that way in a store and I hope I never do. (Just flashed on an image in my mind of what would happen in a time of food shortages and rations and I hope I never have to experience that to find out what I would really be like under those circumstances. But that does give me an idea for something to write about…)

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Seasonal, Thanksgiving and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrating Thanksgiving with friends and not shopping at all

  1. riatarded says:

    We buy too much that we don’t need! smart move!
    I can see that you are making some great progress with your novel! All the best:)

    • Warrior Poet says:

      Everyone I know has more than they need and just about everything they want. I don’t get the whole going crazy shopping thing for Christmas at all. That’s not what it’s about.

      Thanks for the encouraging words on the novel writing. I’m actually many thousands of words behind right now. I usually finish right around Thanksgiving but not this time. Oh, well, there are still a few days left. Have to write like the wind and stop editing and correcting as I go. I can still make it. Just gotta push! I’m afraid I haven’t been able to help Abby Dawg very much with her novel. Not that she’s complained. Hopefully she’ll post an update soon and we can all see how she’s doing. 🙂

Yo, say sumpin! :)

