Camp NaNoWriMo, Day 15

I think I sprained my brain. 😉 I’ve crammed so much research into it and made so many notes that I’m trying to remember and juggle and make sure I put into the story and HALP! I’m tempted to take a day off from writing. But I think that would be a mistake. I think it’s just a temptation and that I should resist it.

But I am going to practice what I preach and spend more time praying and less time reading. Oh, I’m still gonna read. I’m a bookworm from way back. (Ain’t sayin’ how way back!) But I have a tendency to put off prayer until late at night and then I’m too tired and I fall asleep. I used to walk the dogs at the park every day and pray my rosary then. But we haven’t been able to do that for a while now, what with Abby’s health problems and mine, too. I need to set aside a regular time and get back to it, walk or no walk, I need to do it. Rosary, Divine Office, something. Lord knows, I have a million and one prayer books. I need to use ’em! 😉

Found the prayer below today on Twitter.

Prayer before writing: “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.”

And this in a post about Flannery O’Connor, whose letters I enjoy immensely but whose fiction is an acquired taste for which I have not quite acquired the taste…yet:

“Dear God, tonight is not a disappointing one because you have given me a story. Don’t even let me think, dear God, that I was anything but the instrument for Your story—just like the typewriter was mine. Please let the story dear God, in its revisions be made too clear for any false and low interpretation because in it I am not trying to disparage anybody’s religion although when it was coming out, I didn’t know exactly what I was trying to do or what it was going to mean.”

I’ve been praying before a writing session, but I haven’t done it regularly. That needs to change. Starting now. So be it!

Word count goal for the month: 50K. Nightly: 1,667. Tonight: Not quite 2K. Total: 38,264K. 🙂

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in Camp NaNoWriMo, Work In Progress and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Yo, say sumpin! :)

