After an eventful year and summer I am finally writing again

Craziness all year, all summer long. A death in the family. My Dad. Dividing things up. No fighting. My sister and I aren’t like that. It’s just been a lot to deal with. I have a house now but it has needed some work, so I’ve been dealing with that. I’ve inherited his dogs. But one of them already thought she was mine so it’s not as big a deal as it could be. I wonder if I can use the word “deal” one more time in this paragraph.

But last night (November 1) I got the doggies to sleep and opened up my laptop to begin writing this year’s NaNoWriMo novel. With no idea at all what I wanted to write. To tell the truth I’m so out of the habit of writing now that writing anything felt odd. And good. At the same time. (Why did I hear that in Laurie Anderson’s voice? “This is how you can be walking and falling at the same time.”)

Last night’s writing was stream of consciousness and will most certainly be deleted. After NaNoWriMo. I need my word count right now. But today I had some sudden insights about things that had been rolling around in my head and finally pierced through the fog that has been my mind for longer than I care to admit. And these sudden insights led me to make some notes tonight that could turn into a story. So that’s progress and I actually met the word count goal last night and tonight. Oops, I mean night before last and tonight because it’s already Sunday a.m. You know, it’s a good thing that all my clocks are digital because at this moment I cannot remember whether or not the time change is tonight or tomorrow night or would that be last night and–Argh! Like I said, all my clocks are digital and they’re all connected to the network so I’m not going to worry my pretty (as in, pretty empty!) little head about it. So there!

Thanks for reading. Happy creating, y’all, wherever you are!

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Yo, say sumpin! :)

