Did it! 50k and still going cuz I’m just getting started!

Did it! Reached the 50k goal but I’m still going cuz I’m just getting started, though I’ve been writing around and around this story for a long time. (Started noodling around with the idea sometime before NaNoWriMo 2012 but I’ll have to go back through all my backups to figure out exactly when. Yes, backups. In multiple locations. Including offsite.)

Yippee! 50k! And ahead of schedule!

At times while working on this project I would begin to see, dimly, a way forward. Most of the time I had only a vague notion of what I wanted to write. I couldn’t see the action, couldn’t see the setting or the characters, couldn’t hear their voices, couldn’t tell where I wanted to go. I had an idea but not a concept. (Larry Brooks covers this throughout his site, StoryFix. Here’s a sample chapter on idea vs. concept from his latest book on writing, due out in June 2013.) Then I had a concept but it needed a lot of work.

Now I have worked on the concept and have gotten a better idea of the kinds of scenes I’ll need because I have a better idea of what my story is. And I have a better idea of who my characters are and what they want and how they will cause conflict for each other. I’ve discovered conflict and then have worked on ramping it up, ramping up everything, higher tension, more conflict, deeper drives, higher stakes. As Holly Lisle says in her How To Think Sideways writing course, anything average does not belong in the story. Average? Ordinary? Leave it out! Write only what counts. Getting through the boring stuff to get to the interesting stuff? Cut it out. Literally. Cut it right out of the story and drop it. And get right to the good stuff. Now.

Okay, enough of that. Time for another cup of coffee. And back to the story. Things are heating up in the story world and I don’t wanna miss a minute of it. Happy noveling, novelists! And if you’re working on another kind of project, then I wish you all the best on whatever kind of work you’re doing, wherever, whoever, you are. Peace! πŸ™‚

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in Camp NaNoWriMo, NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Did it! 50k and still going cuz I’m just getting started!

  1. Katie says:

    Congrats!!! Someday I, too, will master 50k.

    • WP says:

      Listen, Katie: you get the official handbook by Chris Baty and you use every cheating method in it. And then I’m sure you’ll reach your 50k too. I use all the official cheating methods and I’ve made up some of my own. πŸ˜‰ Cheers!

  2. I have successfully won NaNo every time I have participated!!! It is such a rush!!! There is nothing like NaNo *grins*

    • WP says:

      So true! I want every time too. Though there were two years when life was too crazy to attempt NaNo. But I’ve participated since 2005. Big fun. I’ve learned so much & made new friends too! πŸ™‚

      • **grins** if people only knew the half of my life the first year I participated! 5 trips down to Mayo (5+ hour drive one way) my do it myself wedding! my honeymoon! and my wife’s birthday!!! **grins** I wrote 20k that last day! (which was my wife’s birthday) which just proved to me that I could rise above and I can ALWAYS succeed with enough encouragement and want!!! I think that is what really made NaNo become so central in my life! I participate in every one… this Camp is the first time I have ever been close (after that first one) to not being successful… of course it is only 3 months after the loss of my wife, who was my main encourager. But I am prevailing yet again, just to prove to myself I can do anything I truly set my mind to do!
        Last year I even became an ML!!! **grins** Yup, I have a crazy obsession with NaNo…

        • WP says:

          I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. My heart aches for you. Yet you were able to participate in Camp NaNo so soon afterward, that is amazing. I’m glad you could do that. NaNo is addicting in all of its forms.

          I started doing NaNoWriMo in 2005, WriDaNoJu in 2010 or thereabouts, and Camp NaNoWriMo when it started. It has become a way of life. My friends groan when I tell them about an upcoming event. They say, “Well, we know we won’t see you during that whole month…” And they’re right! Once I get caught up in the world of the story, I don’t wanna come out of it. Everything I hear or see makes me think, “Now how does this relate to my story?” or “Now where can use this in my story?” There’s probably a name for my condition. Other than crazy nutzoid cuckoo, that is. πŸ˜‰

      • Writing is a little form of sanity for me, in what is an otherwise very insane world **grins**

        I started NaNo in 2011, as that is the first time I stumbled across it. I have participated in Camp since I learned of that as well. Mostly because it is so much fun to just let those words spin themselves out on the page!

        I have not heard of WriDaNoJu. What is that?

        For me too it has pretty much become a way of life. My family always asks during NaNo months how the story is shaping up, what my word count is at, and all around being rather encouraging. Some of them even read through my rough draft as I work! Which I always enjoy, it helps me to know if it is making sense outside of my head **grins**
        I think I will have to start thinking that way a little more! I really like the idea of questioning everything around me as it relates to my story! I can get behind an idea like that!
        Oh and that name you are looking for… pretty sure it is something like storywritaholic, or something along that nature, **grins**

        • WP says:

          WriDaNoJu is Write a Dang* Novel in June. NaNoWriMo inspired it but it never got nearly the following that NaNo did. Camp NaNoWriMo seems to have eclipsed it completely now. If you do a web search, you’ll find several forlorn sites that haven’t had much action in a long while. Alas, poor WriDaNoJu…

          *Well, this is a family blog, ya know. πŸ˜‰

      • Yeah I wasn’t finding a whole lot and I see why now… **grins** yeah Camp NaNo rocks…

  3. Congrats!! I’m at 47,000ish words, so I have a couple more days until I “win,” though I also plan to keep going after that. I loooove Holly Lisle’s writing advice and am always glad to meet other writers who have learned from her too! πŸ™‚

    • WP says:

      You can do it! So cloooose! πŸ™‚ yeah, Holly’s writing site and guides have helped me get past a major block. The block being me, ya see. Blockhead, I should say. πŸ˜‰ Taking her HTTS course and doing Vision (another novel writing course, for those who haven’t yet discovered her amazing site) were good decisions. Holly’s a hoot to boot! πŸ˜‰

Yo, say sumpin! :)

