And now for a NaNoWriMo (not so) brief update

Happy NaNo Novelist NaNo Noveling!Now that Thanksgiving Day is over (for which I forgot to write a special post), it’s time for a brief (or not quite so) NaNoWriMo update, which I’m pretty sure I intended to do here regularly all month long. And which I completely forgot about when I, first, panicked that I would not have any progress to post an update about; and, second, when things began to open up in the story and words actually started flowing and I started seeing scenes and places and characters finally DOING something. All of this conspired to keep me away from the blog and keep my rear end in the chair (or on the bed where I do a lot of my daydreaming and writing), typing madly and happily away, trying to keep up with the flood of images my dazed and deranged little mind was conceiving (or receiving or perceiving or all of the above).

And now for the actual update before I get sidetracked again. Drum roll, please! Trumpets blast! Word count is: 43,821! YES! Woohoo! That’s what I’m talkin’ about! I know, right?! (Enough clichés for you yet, yes?)

After driving myself batty trying to make the story perfect during the mad dash toward the 50,000 word goal, I finally decided to do the crafting during the revision process and started just letting the story go like I used to write, making notes for revision at the end of the writing session and at the beginning of the next one. I just let my fingers fly across the keyboard and tell a dadgum story. And it worked! For the first time in YEARS I started seeing an actual story unfold instead of just a few bits and tantalizing pieces here and there.

I gots happy feet even if I can't dance even with a good beatDo I still have a gargantuan task before me? Heck, yeah. But I’m writing a story! Woohoo! There’s hardly a better feeling in the whole wide world and I’m so happy right now I could dance. And I can’t dance! :O

“Hey, mom, you know something else you can’t do?”

Oh, no, er, I mean, Hello, Abby Dawg.

“You can’t play solitaire either.”

Yes, so you’ve been telling me. Constantly.

“Maybe if you didn’t play solitaire constantly I wouldn’t have to tell you that you don’t know how to play that stupid game.”

Sigh. Abby thinks I’m not intelligent enough to play solitaire on my iPad so I should just give up.

“Yeah, you should perhaps play with your best buddy and pal instead, huh, mom? Or you could pretend to work on your NANo.”

I’ve been working on my NaNo, Abby, for your information. And it’s NaNo. N-a-N-o.

“Yeah? And for your information, I was referring to your NANo, and that’s N-A-N-o for Not A Novel. Hmph!”

Not a novel, huh? How so?

“Cuz if it wuz actually a novel, mom, and you wuz actually a novelist, you’d be making some actual money so you could put more gas in the car and you’d be taking me to the park more regular and buying me fancy shmancy treats. But you ain’t no novelist and you ain’t workin’ on your NaNo. You’re pretending to work on your NANo. So there! Your turn.”

Why you little–I oughta–

“Uh oh. I pushed her too far. Exuent, stage dawggie left!”

Come back here, you little brat! Oh, um, hi. Got a little sidetracked again. Well, er, I guess I ought to get back to pretending to work–uh, I mean, writing my N-a-N-o, which is a NOVEL, too, by the way, no matter what certain smart alecky dawgs might have to say! Not a novel, indeed. Well, I never.

“That’s right, mom, you never. Never wrote a actual novel, that is!”

Hey, didn’t you skedaddle while ago? Get outta here and lemme get back to work. And say goodbye, Abby Dawg.

“Goodbye, Abby Dawg.”

Good grief. Back to the story. Happy noveling, NaNo novelists! Cheers!

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in Abby Dawg, NaNoWriMo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Yo, say sumpin! :)

