Winning! It’s a wrap (sorta) and news about Abby Dawg

It was a dark and stormy and very rough draft but that’s 50,204 words of dark, stormy very rough draft, and that’s what counts, by God. (Sorry, Lord, didn’t mean to implicate you in my novel-writing mess.) See the image to the right for one of the winner’s goodies, a web badge that proves what an idiot I am, er, I mean, that proves that I stuck it out until the bitter end and typed more than fifty thousand words of sheer unadulterated dreck and unpublishable nonsense. As it stands now, anyway. But that’s okay. I got it done and now I have plenty of, even mountains of, raw material to use to start fashioning something that resembles a real novel.

Excerpts will appear here on the site when I get something in shape that won’t embarrass the pants off of me. Or anything else off of me. And kill what little hope I do have of ever becoming a serious author.

Abby Dawg, explorer, songwriter, and, well, dawg.(Stop laughing, Abby Dawg. I can hear you snickering into your paws all the way from here.) I’m not at home right now, by the way. I had to get out for a while and write in a cafe so I could wrap this bad boy up. Gotta do other things at home this weekend, including getting ready for a trip to a veterinary college for some tests for my beloved pal, Abby.

Keep us in your thoughts and prayers. It’s likely that she is suffering from a serious condition called Caudal Occipital Malformation Syndrome and/or Canine Chiari-like Malformation and Syringomyelia (I dunno what any of that means but I don’t like the way it sounds!) and it’s no laughing matter, so I’m not making any jokes about it and neither is she. Really, she’s mostly feeling really rotten these days and didn’t even finish her NaNoWriMo novel, which frankly surprised me. That dawg loves to make up stories and make folks giggle. But not right now.

So finishing up Camp NaNo has been bitter-sweet this time since Abby’s been under the weather and not up to accompanying me on my novel-writing adventures. I’ve grown so accustomed to her face while I’m writing that I can hardly stand her not being here right now, looking over my shoulder, making silly comments and making me giggle and snort whatever I’m drinking all over whatever expensive piece of technology I’m using. Oy…

Thanks for reading and I’ll post an update when we get back from the out-of-state vet we have to visit in a few days. (If I can post anything before then, I will but I’ll definitely post news as soon as I can after the vet visit. Even though it may take a while to get the actual results back from the tests.)

Read more:

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in Abby Dawg, Camp NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Yo, say sumpin! :)

