Good heavens, has it been that long since I posted last?

Camp NaNoWriMo June 2012: 50K Words in 30 Days!I’m so sorry, I don’t know what to say. That’s never happened to me before. I didn’t mean to let the blog just sit here all by itself, all alone and abandoned like that. Poor little blog, just waiting for someone to come along and post something. How cruel of me to treat it so. There, there, little blog, mommy loves you. Mommy will make it all better. Mommy will–

“Stop it, mom! You’re makin’ me sick! Of course, it could be all that grass I ate down at the lake this afternoon.”

Abby DawgNothing like a smart alecky dog always dropping in to interrupt your blog.

“Yeah, you really had something going there, talking to yourself, oh, excuse me, to your blog. Sorry I interrupted. God forbid you should waste your time on anything so frivolous as talking to your dog. No, you go right on ahead and talk to your blog. I’ll just sit over here in the corner and stare at the wall while you peck away at those keys and upload and download and pretend to write whatever it is you’re pretending to write.”

But, Abby —

“No, you go ahead. I realize that I can’t compete with Camp NaNoWriMo and computers and Kindles and iPads and any of the other junk that’s taken over my half of the bed these days.”

As if! Since when did you let me have half of the bed, Abby Dawg? I’m two inches away from sliding the rest of the way onto the floor now!

“Be sure ya take all your tek-no-lo-gee with ya when ya go, mom. This bed’s not big enough for you and me and Lucy Dawg and our toys and our blue knobby bones and alla your tekno-junk, too, ya know.”

Gee, I didn’t mean to crowd you, Abby Dawg. Here, I’ll just throw my “tekno-junk” into the floor to make room for your chew toys.

“Don’t be silly, mom. If you throw that stuff in the floor, Lucy Dawg and I will trip on it when we get up in the middle of the night to get into the snack bar while you’re asleep.”

Snack bar? Oh! You mean the waste paper basket.

“One woman’s waste is another woman’s tasty 3 a.m. snack.”

Ugh. I feel ill.

“Heh. I feel smug.”

I feel like —

“Yes, mom?”

Like it’s time to say goodnight, Abby Dawg.

“I don’t have to say it. You already did, mom.”

Already said what?

“Goodnight, Abby Dawg. Doh!”

Heh. Goodnight to you, Abby Dawg. And to you, too, out there wherever you are. Sweet dreams!

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in Abby Dawg, Camp NaNoWriMo, NaNoWriMo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good heavens, has it been that long since I posted last?

  1. rumpydog says:

    I can so relate… except here it’s the cat that likes to do the guilt thing. 🙂

    • Lee says:

      Oh, cats are guilt trip artistes, aren’t they? Abby was surrounded by cats in her formative years and learned much from them. Especially when it comes to expressing boredom, annoyance and disdain, acts in which she has honed her skills to perfection, in addition to her poor neglected puppy number.

      I’ve been enjoying your blog. 🙂 Now I’m heading out the door to take Abby and Lucy to the lake to look for fishing line. Yes, there is a story behind that. I’ll share it later.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      WP (That’s WarriorPoet, not WordPress or Warrior Princess, oh, never mind.)

Yo, say sumpin! :)

