When Writers and Characters Collide

Sometimes my characters refuse to cooperate. Sometimes I have marvelous plans for them but they just sit there, lounging around, soaking up the sun, spoiling all my writerly fun. I gotta a feeling I’m not the only one because I found a video, Writing Your Characters, which I discovered on YouTube earlier today when I should have been working on the novel. (It was right there all along in the back of my mind. Way in the back of my mind. And I do mean waaaaaaaaaaay back there.) But if I hadn’t taken that rather longish break, I wouldn’t have found this interesting channel and blog, so there.

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in For Writers, Videos for Writers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Writers and Characters Collide

  1. walk2write says:

    Thanks for the link! I agree. Interesting blog, videos, and what a great way to promote her writing. Very clever!

    • Lee says:

      I hope she does more of these. Love it when she plays different characters. You know we writers are always hearing voices in our heads. Why not bring them to life in a video? Imagine what Shakespeare could’ve done if he’d had YouTube back then.

      “I can see it now, mom: The Bard, the Acting Company, the One-Man Show. The Merchant of Venice goes viral. As You Like It, whenever you want it.”

      Um…Thanks, Abby Dawg, for your input. Always a pleasure.

      “The pleasure’s yours, I assure you.”

      Uh…Leaving so soon, Abby, dearest?

      “What–I’m not leaving–” [A swift boot to the butt.] — ACK!” [A slamming of the door.]

      Ah, it’s true what they say. Silence is golden when my talking dawg talketh no more.

      [A muffling of the voice.] “I heard that!”

      Methinketh I needeth a thicker door. 😉

Yo, say sumpin! :)

