Did it! 50,152 words and now the real work begins.

Did it! This was my 9th 30 day noveling experience, counting one WriDaNoJu last year and another one this past June, followed by the two back to back summer sessions of Camp NaNoWriMo. Made it over the finish line with 50,142 words at 5:05pm CST, leaving only a few hours to spare. Whew!

I won! I won! I won! Woohoo! Did I mention I won?! I won!

I don’t like cutting it that close but this has been a difficult time for me, writing wise. I’m learning a lot but it’s been a struggle. And, to tell the truth, I’m glad NaNoWriMo is over so I can get back to thinking more about the writing than the word count.

Now I’m going to give my dogs some much needed attention. They were not ignored during NaNo but they don’t (usually) turn up their little doggie noses at more hugs and kisses. We spent the morning together and part of the afternoon romping at the park. Well, they romped. I mostly watched. And giggled. And dodged them when they went thundering past.

Whatcha say, doggies, shall mommy order a pizza for us? This novel writing sure makes a girl hungry! #starving #alsolazy And I wanna read something I didn’t write! And watch any of the dozen or more TV programs I recorded on the DVR while I was mortally afraid of not getting my word count in and posted. Okay, that’s not true. I was not mortally afraid. Mildly concerned. And only panicked once. Or twice. A few times. More than a few. Alright, alright, more than a few times last week. And this week. Oh, never mind. There’s a pizza waiting for me to order it and other such pressing business that needs my attention.

I hope your own novel writing is going well and, now that I’ve got my winner’s goodies, I hope you finished your novel and validated your word count and are ready to celebrate, too. If not, then you still have a few hours. And if you finished some time last week, then don’t let the door hit you on the way out. No one likes a braggart.

Hee hee. Just kidding. ๐Ÿ˜‰

May your days be filled with plots without holes,
characters who enthrall (and do what they’re told),
dialogue that scintillates, and the joy writing creates
which is itself worth more than all the world’s gold.

Goodnight, dear reader and perhaps fellow writer, wherever you are.

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did it! 50,152 words and now the real work begins.

  1. riatarded says:

    I think I am gonna take part in the one for June! sounds like a lot of fun!
    I did hit 50000 but my story is nowhere near finished!

    • Warrior Poet says:

      Yep, the WriDaNoJu in June, then the Camp NaNoWriMo’s in July and August — more than enough to keep us writerly masochistic types insanely busy or busily insane this coming summer. I’m looking forward to the mayhem, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Yo, say sumpin! :)

