NaNoWriMo: Only 11,130 more words to go!

Whew! Been writing off and on all day trying to get caught up and I’m almost there. If I write just 2,230 or so words a day, I’ll make it to 50k by the Wednesday night deadline of midnight. And that is very doable. I’ve had a more than 10k day before so I should be able to get there over the next few days. Will be glad because then I can get back to focusing on the story instead of the word count. I do this every time: allow myself to get caught up in counting words instead of really working on the story at my own pace. Of course, focusing on the word count forces me to eventually stop editing and just write. And things do take some surprising turns when that happens.

But mostly I’m trying to learn the craft of storytelling with the help of the many writing guides I’ve discovered. And also by studying films and books to see what worked and, equally educational, what did not. I’ve tried writing “organically” (not that I called it that, I simply called it, well, writing) for years and years. But for the past few months I have been making a much more serious attempt to learn about how to craft a story instead of hoping one will appear in the midst of the mess and muck on the page.

Why do people call that an “organic” way of writing, anyway? What does that even mean? Sounds so pretentious. You practically have to hold your nose way up high in the air to say it. Pardon me while I roll my eyes. Oy. 😉 As if someone else’s way of writing that might include a few notes and even an outline or two would be in-organic? I find “organic” to be a less than useful way of describing the way I have habitually approached storytelling or even writing in general. A more appropriate term (in my case, at least) would be “working without tools”, “writing by the seat of my pants”, plain old “typing blind with no plan in my mind”.

I hope your own storytelling experience is going well and that you are on your way to meeting whatever goal you’ve set for yourself. If you’re doing NaNoWriMo this time, I hope you’re very close to winning. And if you’ve already won, then just shut the frak up, you annoy me. Just kidding. (No, I’m not!) Yes, I am. If you’ve already won, then I offer you my heartfelt congratulations and whatever you’d like from the bar here to celebrate. Help yourself to a beer, some champagne, a glass of wine or even freshly brewed coffee.

Then you can shut the frak up about it and I’ll go back to playing catch-up on my word count. Set to win on December 3rd unless I shift into high gear. Oh, dear, oh, dear. I will not be so far behind again this time next year… 😉

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Yo, say sumpin! :)

