NaNoWriMo, Day Three, Later that same day…

I got my daily word count typed up, updated my numbers, took a break from criticizing my writing efforts and enjoyed a light snack of pita, hummus and red grapes while the dawgs woofed down their food.

Abby Dawg“Shouldn’t that be ‘wolfed’, mom?”

Sigh. There’s no escape. Even my own dawg is a critic.

“Just trying to help, mom. You want me to look over your draft and highlight the most glaringly obvious errors there for ya, too, huh, do ya, mom, huh, do ya?”

As lovely and well-intentioned as that offer sounds — and I’m sure it is — I think I’ll plod through it on my own somehow, Abby Dearest. 

“Okay. I’m through chewing my blue knobby bone. Gonna take my third siesta now. That music you’re playin’ is makin’ me sleepy. Ambien’ music. Brian somebody zzzzzzzzzz.”

My favorite snack: pita, hummus, red grapesHeh. Works every time. Abby and Lucy are both sound asleep already. 🙂 I’ve got my earbuds in, ready to crank up the Bear McCreary Battlestar Galactica tunes, some of my favorite music ever. Ready for another session of novel-writing greatness.

Taking the break was good for me. Not only did it help me clear my poor head and fill my belly, but I had a startling realization while munching on a handful of juicy red grapes. To wit:

I don’t have to write the first part the way I was planning to.

I can actually change the whole opening section and use some characters that I was planning to dispatch rather suddenly. I realized that I could let them hang around a little longer and make themselves useful. Maybe add some dramatic tension and some texture to the whole story.

Whatta concept. This is the very thing for which I have criticized some of my favorite shows and writers. Don’t waste perfectly good characters and situations! Why do I pound away at the keyboard for months and months only to realize so late that I have the freedom to write this the way I want to? I don’t have a contract, no one even knows what the heck I’m talking about. I’m beginning to wonder if I even know —

“I know I sure don’t!”

Sigh. Time to close the browser, say g’night to Bowser–

“Bowser? We ain’t got no Bowser, mom.”

Nope, ain’t got no Bowser. But I got you, babe. I got you.

“Sure do, mom. And I got you. And Lucy Dawg, too.”

Yep. We’ve both got Lucy Dawg. Matter of fact, I’ve got Lucy Dawg right up my backside. Hey, scoot over, will ya, Lucy? Here we are in this big ol’ bed and I’m still squeezed into a sliver of it about an inch wide. How can two such little dawgs take up so much space?!

“It ain’t easy, mom, but Lucy and me ain’t your ordinary run-of-the-mill dawgs.”

True, so true. That’s why I love you girls. Now it’s time for mom to get some serious work done. So say goodnight, Abby Dawg.

“G’night, Abby Dawg!”

(Oy. Methinks I may need more than pita, hummus and grapes to get me through the next scene or two. If only the coffee shop wasn’t so far away. Could really go for a cuppa right now…Sigh.)

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Yo, say sumpin! :)

