Eek! NaNoWriMo starts in three weeks!

Story Structure Demystified by Larry BrooksThings have been pretty quiet here at the blog, what with me planning the writing for my next NaNoWriMo novel, and helping m beloved Abby Dawg with her first novel, too. And resurrecting abandoned stories now that I’ve got so many helpful tips and writing guide/courses from the likes of Holly LisleLazette GiffordLarry Brooks and Al Watts. I’m trying something new for NaNoWriMo this year: actually planning before I start writing on November 1. 

Yes! Planning! :O

I know, right? Look, I’ve tried this pants-ing (writing by the seat of my pants) thing eight times now. EIGHT TIMES. (And that’s not counting the writing I attempted before I ever heard of NaNoWriMo.) I was ready — boy, was I ready! — for a change when Larry started posting his series of tips on how to write a real novel in thirty days. The key? Effective planning. And understanding basic story structure.

Who knew?

Well, lots of people, probably. And I knew it, too, but what I didn’t know was how to do it. That’s what Larry does with his tips: He shows you how to plan and how to plan effectively. And fast! Read his posts at StoryFix, sign up for his posts via email on his site or via RSS. I highly recommend his books, too, novels and writing guides.

Okay, I’m diving back into the planning process now. Structure. Who knew it would make such a difference? And be so much fun! 🙂

About WP

I'm training myself to write fiction. I gave up on training Abby Dawg a long time ago. What will I be posting here? Stuff, nonsense, nonsensical stuff and stuffy nonsense. And eventually some fiction. When I have something at the stage where I can share. :)
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Yo, say sumpin! :)

